Atul Gawande, MD,

Screening and Discussion

The Oklahoma Chapter of the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association and Saint Anthony Hospital invite healthcare providers to JOIN US for a free screening and discussion of the PBS FRONTLINE film Being Mortal. Based on the best-selling book by Atul Gawande, MD, this documentary explores the hopes of patients and families facing terminal illness and their relationships with the physicians and primary care providers who treat them. See the film and be part of a national conversation that brings medical professionals and community members together around the shared responsibility of discussing what matters most to patients and families facing difficult treatment decisions and how to have these conversations ahead of a medical crisis. (Program materials provided through a grant from the Hospice Foundation of America and the John & Wauna Harman Foundation.)
The Event will take place June 28, 2017 from 4:30 to 6:30 PM and offers 2 free CMEs. The event will take place at the Rapp Conference Center, 535 NW 9th Street (4th floor) in Oklahoma City, OK 73102.
Registration is requested for non-Saint Anthony Hospital associates. To register or for more information go to
Atul Gawande MD, MPH, is a surgeon, writer, and public health researcher. He practices general and endocrine surgery at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and is professor in both the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health and the Department of Surgery at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Gawande has been a staff writer for The New Yorker magazine since 1998 and has written four New York Times bestsellers: Complications, a finalist for the National Book Award in 2002; Better, one of the 10 best books of 2007 by; The Checklist Manifesto in 2009 and his most recent book, Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End, released in October 2014. He has won two National Magazine Awards, Academy Health’s Impact Award for highest research impact on healthcare, a MacArthur Fellowship and the Lewis Thomas Award for Writing about Science.