The Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation has announced its fifth annual Teen Leaders in Philanthropy class.
The 2017 class includes 50 teens from across the state, including five returning from last year’s class as an Advisory Council. The students selected will visit OMRF monthly throughout the 2017-18 school year to meet with philanthropic leaders from the area. They will also learn about how nonprofit organizations function and the impact charitable giving makes on a community.
Applicants are limited to Oklahoma high school students. Each must submit a written application and a letter of reference to qualify and then participate in an interview process.
The teens selected will work on team-building and fundraising projects tailored to teach the basics of philanthropy, development, networking, fundraising and board service.
Previous classes have also worked together to create, organize and operate community-wide events to raise money for disease research at OMRF. The past two Teen Leaders classes have also orchestrated Trivia Nights to raise funds for research.
“This program empowers Oklahoma students with the knowledge, skills and confidence needed to become fully engaged in their communities,” said OMRF Development Associate and Teen Leaders Program Coordinator Caroline Allen. “Learning the skills to give back and promote welfare to others is invaluable. Each one of these students has something special to offer, and this is just the beginning of that philanthropic journey.”

The 2017-18 Teen Leaders in Philanthropy are:
*Bishop McGuinness – Isabella Bice and Tucker Hill
*Bixby – Kamryn Good
*Casady – Nika Gorski and Caroline Hawley
*Deer Creek – Ethan Renner and Hillary Neaves
*Dove Science Academy – Malik Azees
*Edmond Memorial – Karina Cunningham
*Edmond North – Kiran Chakravarty, Madisen Mode, Demetri Papahronis and Allie Rice
*Edmond Santa Fe – Anthony “Theo” Ene, Rachel Hull and Braden Nicholson
*Heritage Hall – Max Baetz and Michael “Pierce” Mattingly
*Homeschool – Jayne Gregston and Jared Gregston
*Mount Saint Mary – Claire Keupen
*Newcastle – Laila Soliman
*Norman – Abdul Fawad and Ashley Jang
*Norman North – Elizabeth Duncan, Havyn Phillips, Reid Powell and Sumayah Sandhu
*OSSM – Emily Johnson, Arshia Ramesh and Lydia Wang
*Putnam City North – Boma Legg-Jack, Jenna Byrom and Jeremy Ward
*Putnam City West – Jairo Montelongo, Oloruntoun “Patience” Ogunbase and Jesus Ibanez
*Southmoore – Ravi Patel
*Southwest Covenant – Ashlea Cole
*Trinity – Briana Whetstone
*Western Heights – Karol Montoya and Jennifer Vu
*Westmoore – Joy Okpoko, Sophie Wortham and Aspen Milledge
Advisory Council
*Blanchard – Macie Sheldon
*Crossings Christian – Megan Szymanski
*Heritage Hall – Alina Wilson
*Newcastle – Karima Soliman
*Norman – Ella Powers